Latest Air Bridge News; What It Means For Your Holiday Plans

The UK is currently entering its third phase and many non-essential businesses are set to reopen on the 4th of July. With the country easing some of its restrictions Grant Shapps, Transport Secretary, has announced that, “the government will begin to ease health measures at the UK border.” Up until now a 14 day isolation period had been imposed by the government for those entering the country. The latest news from the Foreign Office is set to change that with the UK starting to lift its ban on non-essential travel by introducing travel corridor exemption for some countries.

Drawn up by the country’s leading scientists, the decision to form air bridge deals and open up borders is being closely monitored and based on current statistics. From the 10th of July onwards you will be allowed to travel or return from the countries that have travel corridor exemptions without having to quarantine for 14 days. This will cover all modes of transport including train, ferry and air travel. Government guidance is to stay updated on the coronavirus regulations in other countries as they may have different requirements to the UK. Upon arrival in the UK you will be asked to fill out a passenger locator form which will help in the recent track and trace scheme. Countries that currently have travel corridor exemptions include:
• Andorra
• Antigua & Barbuda
• Aruba
• Australia
• Austria
• Bahamas
• Barbados
• Belgium
• Bonaire, Sint Eustatius & Saba
• Croatia
• Curacao
• Cyprus
• Czech Republic
• Denmark
• Dominica
• Faroe Islands
• Fiji
• Finland
• France
• French Polynesia
• New Caldeonia
• Netherlands
• Monaco
• Mauritius
• Malta
• Macau
• Luxembourg
• Lithuania
• Liechtenstein
• Japan
• Jamaica
• Italy
• Iceland
• Hungary
• Hong Kong
• Guadeloupe
• Grenada
• Greenland
• Greece
• Germany
• New Zealand
• Norway
• Poland
• Reunion
• San Marino
• Serbia
• Seychelles
• South Korea
• Spain
• St Barthelemy
• St Kitts and Nevis
• St Pierre and Miquelon
• Switzerland
• Taiwan
• Trinidad & Tobago
• Turkey
• Vatican City
• Vietnam

Ireland, The Channel Islands and the Isle of Man are also exempt and so are the 14 British Overseas Territories. This list is subject to change and will be kept under constant review in line with the current situation.

© 2020 Whitestone Chambers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *